Dot Net Core 6 VM’s please

Am I the only person that thinks .net Core is returning us to the days of no GAC?
I really have struggled with all versions of Core and I guess the reason is Visual Studio only needs the runtime..? Maybe?

The recurring theme is “cannot find .net Core X right after install & reboot (is it even necessary?)

My only thought is we need a totally isolated Dev Environment. So maybe VMs are the answer…

Someone set me straight on this topic as I have spent hours uninstalling all the Dotnet core Frameworks and still no spin. What gives?

I believe I have found the solution. Grab binaries only of DotNetCore6 and extract zip into same in %root%\program Files (x86)\dotnet. Why would this be necessary? I will report back from Stack Overflow Im sure :-). So that worked after uninstalling all DotNetCore versions. Then reinstalling the SDK. No more DotNet Core errors !! Woot woot celbrate… needle scratch %***********…

Now a new issue which is a very common one as well from all of the Slashdot chatter I have seen of late:

Message: “\project.assets.json’ not found. Run a NuGet package restore.

Suggested Solutions are both package restore & dotnet restore.

Nadda!

Talk to ya later once this one is solved 🙂 [Looks like nuGet commands cannot find or write necessary info.]

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.